Meeting Dierks Bentley

Deirks Bentley

On October 27, 2011, I thought it was going to be a good day as that evening I was going to enjoy Dierks Bentley’s Cold Cans Tour concert with opening acts Eli Young Band and Jerrod Niemann. Except it had been a long and horrible day, until a friend surprised me with a meet and greet pass to meet Bentley. Instantly my day took a turn. I was excited and couldn’t wait to encounter one of my many favorite country singers.

As luck would have it, I was the last one in line to meet Bentley and not only was he taking his sweet time (which is a good thing) we (the waiting fans) were already waiting for almost thirty minutes as meet and greet was running late. At this point, I just wanted to hurry up and have my turn.

I had never been to a concert meet and greet before, so I didn’t know how they ran the event. So I felt pretty stupid when I asked Bentley’s asst. tour manager to take our photo on my camera and told me it couldn’t be done which is why there was a professional photographer present. She explained the process how to download my photo online, which made me realize how other fan meet and greet photos look so good and not in a cell phone crappy quality.

My turn was finally here. I walked up to Bentley who quickly greeted me with a side hug, “hi, I’m Dierks. What’s your name?” I told him my name and gave him a photo of himself that I bought from the merch table to sign. Before signing it he asked me the most common question I always get, “how do you spell your name? With a y or ie?” After signing, we took a photo. I quickly said I enjoyed his music and can’t wait to see him put on another great show. He thanked me. Then asked, “you look really familiar, have we met before?” I wish we had, so not only to have a better conversation but also to enjoy him remembering me. I sadly said no, but I had seen him the previous year just a few towns over, but wasn’t lucky enough to win meet and greet.

“No, no, that’s not it. I know we’ve met before. I just can’t put my finger on it,” he responded.

Clearly he had mistaken me for someone else, and I was okay with it knowing I got a few more minutes with Bentley. We parted ways as he said it was great seeing me again and to enjoy the show, then hugged me good-bye.

Despite standing nearly 6 hours straight, I enjoyed the show with my dad and cousin. Eli Young Band and Jerrod Niemann did a good job getting the croud ready before Bentley took the stage, who once again but on a great show. I enjoyed this one better than the pervious one as I was very close to the stage instead of crappy nosebleed seats.

It was indeed a good night and now if I ever meet Bentley again, hopefully he’ll remember me and look back at this meet and greet moment and laugh about it.

Tune in next time as I talk about my horrible experience meeting Shake It Up’s Bella Thorne, Zendaya, and A.N.T. Farm’s Carlon Jeffery.

More videos

Eli Young Band

Jerrod Niemann

Leave a comment