Brad Paisley’s H20 Concert

August 5, 2010 – It was over a hundred degrees when I arrived for Brad Paisley’s H2O outdoor concerts, games, and tailgating party at State Farm Arena in Hidalgo, Texas with my dad, and met up with some friends. I was excited with the biggest smile on my face.  It was a concert I was looking forward to all year around, six country artists in one day.  The first part of the concert was outside, and first up was my favorite, Easton Corbin. I arrived early enough to be in the very front of the stage on the far right side, but right in front of the entranceway for the artists. I had the perfect view. At the time, Corbin stardom was just starting and I only knew his two hits. He opened up the show with “A Little More Country Than That” and ended with “Roll With It” but I fell in love with all the songs in between and only made me wish I had caught his entire set on video.

After Corbin set was duo Steel Magnolia, followed by Josh Thompson. During Steel Magnolia I sang along to “Oh La La,” and “Keep On Lovin’ You” which were the only two songs I knew at the time. However, their set introduced me to like more of their music. Once they got off the stage, my friend and I decided to skip Josh Thompson’s set (which I now regret) because we didn’t know any of his songs, and waited to get in line for the meet in great with the three artists. Although we didn’t see him, we did hear his music.

Meeting Josh Thompson, Steel Magnolia, and Easton Corbin were the first celebrities I met. I was very excited, shy, and too nervous to have a normal usual conversation with them. At the time, I hadn’t mastered how to act cool or realized they’re just regular people like us who have a job that puts them in the spotlight. Which worked out great because it was a very quick meet and greet session (the second part of the concert inside of the arena was in about an hour) and didn’t have to worry about saying something ridiculous.

After an hour-long wait in the heat and sun, I made it to the booth with all three artists. Josh Thompson was the first one. I took a quick photo with him and said he played great. I didn’t check how our photo came out, and now looking at it, I wish I did and asked for another photo as I covered half his face.

Next up was Steel Magnolia. I was excited to see these two beautiful people and I didn’t have anything of theirs to sign, and asked him to sign my Easton Corbin cap. I was too excited and overly shy to say anything other than “you guys sounded great.” Then ended our meet and greet with a great photo.

At last, Easton Corbin. I was extremely nervous meeting him because I’m madly in love with him and his music. I was terrified to be an idiot in front of him and of course I did. He greeted me with a hug and introduced himself. Instantly and quickly told him my name, and asked him to sign his cap and my purse. Corbin instantly recognized his cap (the one seen on his first album cover) and said, “Hey! That’s my cap!” I responded, “I know. You gave it to JoJo (our radio DJ) and he gave it to me.” I asked if we could take a picture and he said of course. I quickly side hugged him for a photo and smiled ready in motion for our first photo together. Then my friend said, “Hello Amy, you have the camera.” I looked down to see my camera with the strap hanging from my wrist.  Corbin chuckled during my funny yet my most embarrassing fangirl moment.

Needless to say, that day was the highlight of the year. I had never had so much fun. I saw Paisley in 2008, and he topped it with his fun and amazing H2O tour.

Check out my other videos from the concert:

Tune in for my next post about attending Friday Night Lights Season 5 Preimere Party, Red Carpet and Screening.

Leave a comment